Family Heritage Project – Free Recipe Card Printable

I have gone in search of vintage recipes. The problem is that all I find are cookbooks printed by magazine companies, churches, etc. What I have learned in the process is that most of us (me included) cook meals that our family looks forward to, but we do it without a recipe. We just DO IT. This is what I want you to do…I want you to have someone in your family sit and document what you are doing. Yes, this may feel a little odd for you. You will actually pull our those measuring cups that you never use–not to be sure you use enough of something, but instead to tell your recorder how much of it you are using. Have them document your steps, being careful to include the time for prepping, the time for cooking, how thick you cut your items (roughly), and any small details that may mean the difference between success and failure. Don’t worry about documenting brand of ingredients unless the brand really has a lot to do with the outcome of the dish.

When you finish your recipe card, share it. Maybe even have someone in your family cook it for you by following your recipe to see if you forgot to add anything. This will be the first of your personal collection–your family heritage collection. Something that follows us throughout our lives (the memories from the foods we eat) is being missed. How many times have you heard, “I wish I had a slice of grandma’s carrot cake.” Well you could if grandma had written it down. Think about the future generations of your family. WRITE IT DOWN.

In an attempt to encourage you to pass along your recipes to those you love, I am going to be creating a number of different printable items for you. I am calling this project the “Family Heritage Project.” This first printable is a recipe card. It is my first, so give me your feedback.

Click THIS link for 6X4 printable version of recipe card. Photo below is a preview only and not proper printable format.

PREVIEW COPY:This recipe printable was designed by Margie's Cottage Kitchen using Scrapbook Max 2.0.

PREVIEW COPY:This recipe printable was designed by
Margie’s Cottage Kitchen using Scrapbook Max 2.0.

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Family Heritage Project, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

