Organic food @ cheaper prices?

USDA Organic Logo

The U.S. made an agreement with Europe to accept the guidelines for what is considered organic to be imported and exported starting June 1, 2012. I wonder if that will provide more supply, considering we will start receiving organic food from Europe, and lower the prices of organic food. I know that it is definitely a great move for our organic farmers.

organic food person, but when there is something that is comparable in taste and price to non-organic food, I do tend to make the (assumed) healthier choice and buy organic. Probably the biggest reason I don’t eat organic more frequently is price. It’s always been the rule that eating healthy is far more expensive than not. Although, I guess if you factor in the cost of weight loss and doctor bills for health problems of not eating healthy, you may find that is simply a myth.

European Commission Organic Logo

Fortunately, there was one exception to the guidelines. Sick animals that are treated with antibiotics cannot be considered organic (which is still practiced in some places in Europe but not the U.S.). I can’t help but wonder though, how do you “organically” treat a sick animal? Hmmm…maybe they just mean that the treated animal has to be sold in the general market and not organic section.

So, we may start seeing the organic section of our grocery stores grow in size. It will be an interesting development to keep an eye on.

For the full story, check out this link on NPR…the source of this info.

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

