The Elephant in the room

Photo by Nick Brandt

Some interesting facts that I didn’t know about elephants are that they are the largest land animal in the world, female elephants stay in female only clans (mother, daughter, aunt, etc) while the male remains solitary, their tusks are actually their incisors and not all females have them, those that have avoided extinction are the Asian elephant (aka Indian elephant), the African forest elephant, and the African bush elephant, the gestation period for an elephant is 22 months, and if you want to buy someone an elephant as a gift, 🙂 then you need to buy it on the day of their birth because they live to be 50-70 years old (the oldest was 82).

For more details and beautiful pictures, go to the SOURCE of this post: Twisted Sifter -Photo by Nick Brandt

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

