Growing things with brown thumbs

I have NEVER been able to grow anything in the past. I have tried. I even killed a cactus. Over watering, under watering or just totally forgetting the plant was there would lead to its demise. The joke around my house is that I could kill an artificial plant; however, since I have been expecting my first child, my attention has been focused a lot on growing things. I have been successful so far in growing a very active young man in my tummy, so I am going to turn my attention also to a small garden project this spring as I wait on the arrival of our much anticipated addition.

ImageI am going to start really small. I am going to do what is called “sowing seeds” in make shift greenhouses made of milk jugs. This gives the plant an opportunity to grow in colder temperatures (protecting them as we experience cold snaps approaching spring), and then I will transplant them into a small garden spot. I really enjoyed the post that I found on this project and wanted to share it with you. Perhaps you can try starting your own garden as well.

You can find the step-by-step instructions on making your own make shift greenhouses at A Garden for the House, from Kevin Lee Jacobs.

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Food, Gardening, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome. I’ve had very good luck with winter sowing.

Leave a Reply

