Don’t undersell — Get the job

Wow! Have you ever been just going through life and weeks actually pass before you realize you haven’t posted to your blog? It seems impossible. It seems like I just posted. Please forgive me. I’ve obviously been very tied up with work.

I just finished a new Executive Resume job for someone in Oregon. Employment document preparation is something that is my niche. I never really considered that I would be referred to people across the country. I think it’s probably one of those tasks that most people hate to do because it’s difficult to promote yourself. I have learned by working with others that many people undersell themselves, which could be why employers choose the competition instead.

Since I’m writing about employment documentation, I’ll share on that topic today. Don’t look at a resume as a “proof of employment.” Most of the resumes I get look like a time card with a brief description. The purpose of a resume is to convince the employer that you are the best person for the position. If you’re applying for a marketing position, why would they care that you worked for Dunkin’ Donuts? unless of course you handled something related to marketing there. I advocate the use of an employment history tableImage where you would list each place you worked, the titles worked, and the start and ending date of employment; however, outside of how customers found you to be the most helpful on your job, I would most likely not even mention a position that doesn’t include duties that would directly relate to the position you are applying for. I wouldn’t completely disregard a position that seems unrelated either. Consider the microskills necessary to do the job.

Microskills

This may or may not be a “technical” term. It’s the way that I describe the things you are capable of doing that aren’t necessarily on a job description and aren’t obvious to those around you. It’s those things that you make look really easy. For example, you may be a killer organizer and your ability to organize (even in your mind) makes you the go-to person to get certain things done. No one really understands why they come to you for the work. They just know that you’re the one that is able to get it accomplished. That is a VERY important skill. Be sure to brag about it on  your resume. This is the area that most people undersell. Sometimes, it takes someone like me to pull this type of information out of you. If that is the case, then don’t hesitate to hire someone to write you a winning resume.

I’ll be happy to answer your questions about employment document preparation. What issues do you generally have when working on your resume?

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Employment, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

