Leaving a Legacy

Great Grandma’s Homemade Dressing

In the past, my mother wasn’t very sentimental. I recall learning that she had donated a lot of my and my brother’s things, and I was upset–not because they were mine (ok, maybe because they were mine), but instead, because I valued what she, or another special someone, had given me.

Well, time has passed, and mom is a little more sentimental than she used to be. She now has black and white and other vintage pictures around her home of her family from years past. She has passed on to me a few items that she made by hand. Now that I am home with my little one and learning all of the joys of being a mother, she is sharing some of our family’s amazing recipes also. Note: most of these recipes aren’t in writing (or they were and when I was a teenager, I thought I would do her a favor and write them in a recipe book for her. I saw no need for the tsp, tb, c, etc that littered the pages either, so I left them off.) Uh…yeah! So the recipes she passes along to me are from her memory.

Great Grandma’s Dressing – Isn’t it beautiful?

My family has a lot of great recipes, but everyone knows this dressing. Every year, there are requests for it. For years now, I have wanted to learn to cook it and carry on the tradition of making it for family gatherings. Finally, mom and I got on the phone and hashed out the very rough recipe (not written down). She had me send her video of the consistency of the dressing on her cell phone, and she would tell me to add more chicken stock. It was a very enjoyable experience. It was part of her legacy (whether she realizes it or not). She is passing on to me a great number of things (not materialistic items). Fortunately, some of the family recipes are part of that legacy. Pictured here is baked chicken with great-grandma’s homemade dressing and giblet gravy with a side of salad (that one lone olive killed my photo–so I ate it ;).

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. From where I watch, I see my daughter just beginning to truly enjoy and appreciate legacy. I believe it is only natural, when you have a child to pass the legacy to. I enjoy the intangible memories, my grandmother’s dressing, more than the tangible items and pictures. I enjoy pictures of my grandson the most, at present, because I know the pictures and videos are what he is doing now. Recently, my daughter bought a large wooden shelf/quilt hanger from a yard sale. It has the traditional heart cutout. I reminded her that she wanted nothing to do with that country look from approx. age 20 to pre-Elliot (Eli). She grew up with the country decor. Complete with crafts, ceramic ducks/geese, blue everything, homemade stuffed animals and dolls, etc. So, it doesn’t surprise me to see my daughter finding herself drawn to the things of her childhood. The things that feel like family and home. It’s nesting time.

Leave a Reply

