My Delicious & Delightful Deviled Egg Secret

I reluctantly reveal my secret to the “perfect deviled egg”. Reluctantly because I hate to shatter my daughter’s image of the eggs. My secret is, let an egg be an egg. One thing is for sure, we tend to add too much to our food. Sometimes I want simple favors. For example, another item on our menu was potatoes. Not potato salad. Not potatoes Au Gratin,  just boiled potatoes with the option to add sour cream, butter, cheese, etc. I chose potatoes with salt and pepper. I just wanted to taste the potato. So the same theory went into my deviled eggs. Egg yolks with a few white mashed, add mayo, mustard,  garlic powder, kosher salt & pepper to taste and a sprinkle of paprika . No pickle relish. OK, so that isn’t totally letting an egg be an egg, but the egg was the star of the favor. Now, what really made the eggs taste so special was presentation, with a sprig of dill from my herb garden. Presentation, presentation, presentation. Taste is such an individual thing. For me, at this time in my life,  less is more. If you enjoyed an array of special family favorites, please share a few of your favorites with us.

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Food, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like that theory – less is more. Sometimes I get so caught up in trying to merry flavors that I forget sometimes food is best just as it is. Simplicity. Something I need to work on.

  2. This post is eggsactly what I was shooting for! 😀

  3. yourothermotherhere

    Now I’m hungry for deviled eggs with a sprig of dill. And you are right – presentation is everything.

Leave a Reply

