Burning Supper – Knowing When To Stop

As a part of my Family Heritage Project, I am writing down everything that I cook–as I cook it. I don’t measure anything when I cook for my family. I go exclusively off of taste. I seldom ever use recipes, unless I find one in Cook’s Illustrated that I just can’t go without trying. I am  building my personal recipe collection to pass along to my son, so he can recreate some of the memories that we made together with his children/family one day. Yeah, I know. I think WAY ahead of the game, seeing how he’s just 8 months old. 🙂 It’s never too early to start. As a matter of fact, starting early actually increases the likelihood it will get finished one day. If you don’t start, then you could forget you even wanted to do it until it’s too late, and you’re saying, “I wish I had written my recipes down for him.”

Well, I am all about sharing the bad with the good, so I share warts and all here. If I mess something up, I share that I did. For one, someone can laugh with me about it. Two, I can pass on to you what I learned about the process. So here goes…brand new recipe. A concept. I was wanting soup, but also wanting black beans and Spanish rice. Why not put them together?? This could have worked if I had known what would happen, before it happened. This is what I learned about making black beans, chicken, and Spanish rice soup.

1. The rice will absorb almost ALL of the water you put into the pot. Even if it is 4 times what the recipe calls for.

2. Two 1 lb packages of Spanish rice will feed a small country when you use 4 times the water called for.

3. Onions will not cook through before the rice burns to the bottom of the pot.

4. Boil onions with chicken in the beginning.

5. Cook rice as directed in a separate pot and add at the very end.

6. When your husband says, “Whatever Mommy is cooking smells really good” to your 8 month old son, it’s time to pull it off the burner because within the next 5 minutes, he will say, “Something’s burning” right about the time you say “Uh oh” when you smell the char.

Burnt! Yep. The rice that had completely cooked was heavy having absorbed all that water I guess and burned to the bottom of the pot before I realized it. Smelled like coffee. I quickly pulled the pot off of the stove and poured it into a cold pot hoping it would only be the bottom portion that was bad, but if you’ve ever had something burn to the bottom of a pot of liquid, the liquid will always have that smell.

Once I changed it to the new pot and completed my process, the smell wasn’t quite as bad. What’s bad is that all of that soup (that could have fed a small country) is now in the trash because while tolerable fresh out of the pot, surely it wasn’t going to be tolerable the next day. EWW.

So, that is what I learned from my recipe creating session today. Not everything I try will work out, but everything I try, I will learn from. I think I know how to merge the two together next time, without the coffee undertones. I’ll let you know how it works out when I get the nerve up to try it again (and can forget that coffee smell).

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Family Heritage Project, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

