Preserving & Celebrating Cooking History

Vintage cookbook 1951

Vintage cookbook 1951

It seems that after having Eli, I have grown more and more passionate about preserving history. I guess I didn’t really think about history as much when I was younger; however, I do think I probably valued it more than others my age. I have an idea, and I am so excited to get started with it.

As I have shared in previous posts, I really believe that families should write down all of their recipes. I think a mother should pass down a copy of her recipes to all of her children when they leave home and start their own family. A lot of how we feel about life comes from the foods we ate as children. So this is my idea…

I am going to type up every name in this vintage cookbook that I have and attempt to get a brief summary of who the person was. Who knows, maybe I can even find some pictures! I would love to be able to tell a story about these ladies through what I learn.

Another idea is to cook/bake through the cookbook. This will give me a lot of information for my upcoming official food blog. I am very excited to see it unfold and begin to tell a story about the food and the ladies that made it. Keep your eyes open for more to come.

About Margie - Blog Owner

Full-time Homemaker, Cakebaker, and Phototaker. I love my life! Blessed with the birth of a son, my only child, at 40 years old, my life took a MAJOR change. In exchange for the life I had chosen for myself, God gave me a love and instant ability for baking and confections. How can I argue with that?

Posted on August 7, 2013, in Family Heritage Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

